If I cast a spell that has an "on cast" effect, does the effect still trigger even if the spell is countered? For example, if I play Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger and it gets countered by a counter spell, do I still get to exile 2 target permanents?




Yes. A player doesn"t have a chance to cast a counterspell until after you have finished "casting" your spell, and any "when cast" triggers are triggered and put on the stack. At that point, a player could counter your spell, but the triggered ability is still there as a completely separate thing.

You are watching: If a spell is countered is it still cast

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability.


A small point of clarification: If your opponent counters your Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger with Summary Dismissal it will counter both the spell and the "when you cast" triggered ability. Similarly, your opponent could use a couple spells to counter your spell (e.g., with a Ceremonious Rejection) and the triggered ability (e.g., with a Stifle or Disallow).



Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!

Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid

Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

See more: Uncontrollable Thoughts And Worries Are To _____ As Uncontrollable Behaviors Are To _____.

To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.

Post Your Answer Discard

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged magic-the-gathering or ask your own question.

site design / logo © 2021 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under cc by-sa. rev2021.9.30.40348

Your privacy

By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our Cookie Policy.